Being Retired: a Beginner’s Guide

Hello and welcome to My World.

I think I’m going to assume you’re either retired or near it, and wondering what it will be like?

At first I was  all breezy about being retired, and looked amazed at folks who said: ‘Have you prepared properly, I don’t mean financially, but emotionally?’

Apparently there’s classes and seminars and schtuff. I had no guidance or support in this area from my employers.Haha. No surprise there.

So, just like everything else in my impetuous ‘what can possibly go wrong?’ series of ill considered decisions ( getting married twice to two equally unsuitable eejits numbers amongst these follies) I  just went ahead and made it up as I went along.

It was like an extended August for a while ( I was a teacher for 30 something years) so basically each day was like: shall I go for a swim or a walk today? Shall I spend hours online, or read a book?

You do start to realise you haven’t actually *spoken* to anyone for a few days or hours and find yourself being horrendously over chatty at the check out…

Ooopsie; so that’s why those other older folk tend to do that, you finally realise..it’s to experience hearing someone else answering your voice!

I’d started a theatre company already so one day had a permanent rehearsal slot.

I’d also booked 5 weeks with the National Trust on working holidays.

More on both of those later.

I found myself finding out what yoga classes were on, what Art groups on what days * and then not going to them* in a surprising, ‘I could go to those, but don’t need to’ weird reaction to constantly busying myself -as I’d expected I would want to do.

In other words: I was fine with not being with loads of others and in fact, I was more than fine!

I learned to enjoy solitary walks and not just in a ‘this is OK’ way; but realise I truly and fully loved being able to sit for an hour gazing at a view of the sea while on Brownsea island and eating an orange really slowly and feeling actual euphoria .. until the stump got a bit too hard and then I decided when I wanted to move on.

I could just lay my hand on a tree trunk and gaze upwards at the arrangement of the branching and foliage, of the bracket funghi, of the wounds  and scars and the sheer size of the growth and strength; admire the texture  and just breathe it all in!

This. This. Survival. Endurance. Carrying on.

If in doubt, go and look at a tree.

Thank you for reading.

This is your very first post. Click the Edit link to modify or delete it, or start a new post. If you like, use this post to tell readers why you started this blog and what you plan to do with it.
4 thoughts on “Being Retired: a Beginner’s Guide

  1. I don’t think you’ll ever be ‘retiring’ in the slightly shy sense of that word. 🙂 Digger appreciates the idea of time spent looking at trees is never wasted, and clearly we all agree that after being stuck in the black hole of a drama studio for a career lifetime warrants more and more opportunities to get outdoors more. And meeting all the ‘characters’ at those things must give great ideas for a sequel to Giggleswick! x

    Like

    1. Thank you blog meister, those comments made me actually wipe a tear from my eye, which happens with rather alarming frequency in my dotage. I’m very chuffed that you and Digger liked my first attempt. It was yourn that made me decide to ‘have a go’. xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

